Manila Pauses for June 24 Observance

Spread the love

To allow residents to fully celebrate Manila’s 453rd founding anniversary, President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. has declared June 24, 2024, a special non-working holiday in the city. This decision, formalized through Proclamation 599 signed by Executive Secretary Lucas Bersamin on June 19th, emphasizes the importance of civic participation and enjoyment of such occasions.

Known originally as Maynilad after the nilad plant abundant in the area, the city’s name evolved to Maynila and finally Manila. Today, encompassing 38.55 square kilometers along the shores of Manila Bay, it stands as a key part of Metro Manila (National Capital Region), a bustling metropolis comprising 16 cities and one municipality. Within its borders lie 897 barangays (villages), each with its own chairman and seven councilors, grouped into 100 zones and further organized into 16 administrative districts for streamlined governance.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *