Supreme Court Designates Additional Courts for Taguig

Supreme Court PHOTO FROM PNA
Spread the love

The Supreme Court of the Philippines has recently designated additional courts in Taguig City, following the transfer of 10 villages from Makati City to Taguig. This move aims to address the increased workload resulting from the transfer and ensure efficient judicial proceedings in the area.

In a resolution dated December 5, 2023, which was made public on Thursday, the Supreme Court designated seven Regional Trial Courts (RTCs) and four Metropolitan Trial Courts (MeTCs) of Makati as assisting courts in Taguig. These courts will play a crucial role in handling the cases previously under the jurisdiction of the transferred villages.

The designated RTCs in Taguig are as follows:

1. Branch 136, Judge Rico Sebastian D. Liwanag (Family Court)
2. Branch 144, Judge Liza Marie R. Picardal-Tecson (Family Court)
3. Branch 147, Judge Karla Regina D. Valera-Chua (Special Commercial Court)
4. Branch 63, Judge Jacob M. Montesa 2nd (Drugs Court)
5. Branch 145, Judge Karen A. Matti-Sy
6. Branch 65, Judge Veronica B. Tongio-Igot (Drugs Court)
7. Branch 134, Judge Redentor dela Cruz Cardenas

Similarly, the following MeTCs have also been designated as assisting courts:

1. Branch 61, Judge Xavier Paolo R. del Castillo
2. Branch 66, Judge Niño Delvin E. Embuscado
3. Branch 128, Judge Maureen L. Rubio Marquez
4. Branch 129, Judge Alexius P. Tang

Effective since January 1, the Offices of the Clerk of Court (OCCs) of the RTCs and MeTCs in Taguig now require parties filing civil and criminal cases to provide their landline or mobile phone numbers and email addresses. This information will become part of the official records of the cases, ensuring better communication and transparency throughout the legal process.

When filing a case, it will be raffled to the appropriate court following existing rules. The case records will then be forwarded to the assigned branches for recording. Afterward, the case records will be transmitted back to the OCCs and forwarded to the OCCs of Makati for distribution to the assisting courts in Taguig.

In urgent cases filed in Taguig City, the executive judge of the court may act on urgent temporary reliefs as provided under the Rules of Court before the case is forwarded to the assigned court in Makati City.

The caption of newly filed cases must include the identities of both the Taguig and Makati courts involved. Any motion for reconsideration should be filed with the Makati City court within the allowed time frame according to the Rules of Court. Appeals from judgments or final orders issued by the Makati City MeTC should be taken to the Taguig City RTC.

If no appeal or motion for reconsideration is filed, the case records will be forwarded from the Makati court branch to its OCC and then transmitted to the Taguig court for execution. The judgment or final order will be entered by the Clerk of Court of the Taguig court in its book of entries of judgment.

For civil actions in violation of Batas Pambansa Blg. 22 decided by the Makati court, the latter shall execute the judgment. Additionally, any provisionally dismissed or archived criminal actions will also be heard by the same Makati court upon revival within the specified period of this interim program. The records of provisionally dismissed or archived cases by the Makati courts will remain with them until the end of the interim program, at which point they will be transmitted back to the Taguig courts.

With the designation of these additional courts, the Supreme Court aims to ensure a smooth transition and efficient delivery of justice in Taguig City. These measures will help streamline the legal process and provide timely resolution to cases within the jurisdiction of the transferred villages.

Source: The Manila Times

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *